4C names 2015 Champions for Children

September 25, 2015

Maloney Pageboykins

4C for Children has named Leslie Maloney and Pamela Page-Boykins as the 2015 Champions for Children. “Each of these women has worked tirelessly to help our children bloom,” says Vanessa Freytag, 4C president/CEO.

Leslie Maloney is a member of the Cincinnati Preschool Promise steering committee and vice president and education program manager of the Carol Ann and Ralph V. Haile, Jr./U.S. Bank Foundation. A former president of the 4C for Children Board of Trustees, she lives in East Walnut Hills.

Pamela Page-Boykins, a member of the Success By 6® Regional Leadership Council, is working through her church to bring quality early experiences to children in Lincoln Heights. A former president of the 4C for Children Board of Trustees, she is a resident of Amberley Village.

"Helping Children Bloom" is the theme of this year’s Champions for Children Celebration, which will be held Jan. 23, 2016, at the Cincinnati Netherland Hilton. At this 10th anniversary event, all previous champions will also be recognized.

To mark the 10th anniversary, 4C will present the first Sallie Westheimer Community Impact Award to John Pepper and James Zimmerman, retired CEOs of Procter & Gamble and Macy’s respectively.

“Their advocacy efforts over this past decade have created a sea change in our community’s conversation about the importance of early childhood education and care,” says Penny Pensak, a member of the 4C for Children Board of Trustees, who helped conceive this award. They have come to be known as the “capitalists for preschool” since they penned a joint opinion piece by that title in the New York Times two years ago.

“Besides a fitting way to honor Jim and John,” Pensak continues, “4C hopes this occasional award will memorialize the lasting impact that now-retired 4C President/CEO Sallie Westheimer has had on our community.” 

This year's event will also include the presentation of the fifth annual "Champions for Children: The Next Generation" award to a project involving high school students taking action on behalf of the children of our community—or of our world. This award, explains Vanessa Freytag, ”reinforces in the leaders of tomorrow the importance of investing in the children of today—especially those from birth to age 8." The deadline for application is Oct. 18.

Co-chairs Tiffiny Dawson and Ann Williams are leading the 4C Champions for Children Committee, which includes: Katie Hayden, Carole Rigaud, Veronica Sebald, Merri Gaither Smith, Megan Stacey, Christy Stockton, Sarah Theodore and Nan Witten.